The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (1963)

Posted By: maverik53

The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan

Released in March of 1963 this album, unlike his first, consists mostly of songs by Mr. Dylan himself. The songs, everyone a gem, seem to be a running commentary on what it must have been like to be in young in the early Sixties and getting mixed messages from those in power. JFK was alive with the promise of hope and a New Frontier, yet the war in Vietnam was hotting up.
Songs like the lead off "Blowin' in the Wind," "Talking World War III Blues," "A Hard Rain," and "Masters of War," which appears to be just as relevant now as it was forty years ago, seem to be a somber message of the turbulent times to come.

With "Don't Think Twice," "Girl From the North Country," and "Corrina, Corrina," Mr. Dylan shows us that he's not just about protesting and complaining, that he can sing the tender ballads as well, and why not, this was a time of hope, there was tenderness in 1963, however there were storm clouds on the horizon, Dallas and a full blown war were coming and this record seems to be a warning.

Track list

1. Blowin' In The Wind Listen Listen Listen
2. Girl From The North Country Listen Listen Listen
3. Masters Of War Listen Listen Listen
4. Down The Highway Listen Listen Listen
5. Bob Dylan's Blues Listen Listen Listen
6. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall Listen Listen
7. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right Listen Listen
8. Bob Dylan's Dream Listen Listen
9. Oxford Town Listen Listen
10. Talking World War III Blues Listen Listen
11. Corrina, Corrina Listen Listen
12. Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance Listen Listen
13. I Shall Be Free