William LAWES (1602-1645) - For ye Violls - Consort Setts in 5 and 6 parts - Fretwork

Posted By: Edmond Mach
William LAWES (1602-1645) - For ye Violls - Consort Setts in 5 and 6 parts - Fretwork

William LAWES (1602-1645) - 'FOR YE VIOLLS'
Consort Setts in 5 and 6 parts
Recorded at Abbey Road Studio, februari 1990

APE (EAC Rip) + CUE | 3% Recovery | Covers & booklet | 321 MB | Rapidshare | TT 69:30

William Lawes (1602-1645) was one of the most creative and sophisticated composers of consort music. An analogy has been made between him and Beethoven, for the unprecedented innovative elements he brought to the instrumental styles of the time. This includes jarring angular themes, and bold harmonic schemes carried off with ease. Lawes' genius had the potential for initiating a classical instrumental tradition before its time, but this was not to come to fruition due to the onset of the English Civil War and the resulting brevity of his life. Lawes is a composer who could easily appeal to a much wider audience than is currently aware of his music.
These are some of the most interesting & comprehensive instrumental works of the era.


Consort Sett a 6 (F major)
1. Fantazy
2. Aire
3. Fantazy
4. Aire

Divisions for two bass viols & organ (G minor)
5. Paven
6. Aire
7. Aire

Consort Sett a 5 (C minor)
8. Fantazy
9. Aire
10. Paven
11. Aire

Consort Sett a 5 (F major)
12. Fantazy
13. Paven
14. Aire

Airs for three lyra viols
15. Fantasie (VdGS 573)
16. Humour (VdGS 578)

Consort Sett a 6 (C minor)
17. Fantazia
18. Fantazia
19. Inominy
20. Aire

Virgin Veritas 59021. Reissued in Virgin Veritas Edition 562001
Performers: Wendy Gillespie, Richard Campbell, Julia Hodgson, Susanna Pell, William Hunt, Richard Boothby (viola da gamba) with Paul Nicholson (organ)


or from my Rapidshare folder:

No password needed.

How to:
1. Decompress with Monkey's Audio []
2. Add Burrrn Cue file in Burrrn []
3. Burrrn