April 2024
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4

Rich Pellegrin - Down (2019)

Posted By: varrock
Rich Pellegrin - Down (2019)

Rich Pellegrin - Down (2019)
WEB FLAC (tracks) - 286 MB | Tracks: 7 | 52:27 min
Style: Jazz | Label: OA2 Records

Down features seven tracks from Pellegrin's pen, starting with "Trial," an adeptly arranged quintet piece featuring two stellar solos—one from the leader on piano and one from saxophonist Neil Welch. Pellegrin's piano style—and the composition itself—feel like something the late pianist Andrew Hill (1931-2007) might have done, not particularly in technique, but in the off-center originality and energy on its long and winding percussive road that leads to the the tenor sax turn. Saxophonist Welch cranks up the "ominous" with a low-in-the-throat growl inside the tumult of Evan Flory-Barnes' bass and Christopher Icasiano's drum backdrop. A marvelous opener.

"Birthright" is more pensive, and more about the group interplay gathered around the solos; and the same can be said for the title tune, with its emotive and mournful trumpet turn from R. Scott Morning.

The first five cuts on Down were recorded during one studio session; the last two, "Down (Introduction)" and a second take on "Down" were recorded in Memorial Baptist Church, Columbia, Missouri, with the core quintet augmented by the seven piece Mizzou New Music Ensemble—two reeds, two percussionists, a violin, a viola and a cello. This classical group—presumably not as familiar with improvisation as the jazz quintet they join here—helps create a rich, expansive and beautifully-textured sound experience, featuring masterful solos from saxophonist Welch and bassist Flory-Barnes that are "not ordinary solos," according to Pellegrin. Indeed, not your ordinary jazz album, in the best possible sense of "not ordinary."

Personnel: Rich Pellegrin: piano; R. Scott Morning: trumpet; Neil Welch: tenor saxophone; Evan Flory-Barnes: bass; Chis Icasiano: drums; The Mizzou New Music Ensemble (6, 7): Erin Spenser: flute; Jeremiah Rittel: clarinet; Britney Stutz: violin: Rachel Czech: cello; Jose Martinez: percussion; Taylor Burkhardt: percussion.


01. Trial
02. Birthright
03. Down
04. Acceptance
05. Exile
06. Down (Introduction)
07. Down (Mizzou New Music Ensemble)

ANALYZER: auCDtect: CD records authenticity detector, version 0.8.2
Copyright © 2004 Oleg Berngardt. All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2004 Alexander Djourik. All rights reserved.

FILE: 01. Trial.flac
Size: 52414654 Hash: A5B342981A7A9A61DE39B6834410B5EE Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: 1966681F4EEBA46B6D79668F32099B59E5FA1096
FILE: 02. Birthright.flac
Size: 62024915 Hash: 6C46BF316E771A9E205DED732468EC14 Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: F90DC6238F674DAA5C8C8E180D19EAA91F2474CB
FILE: 03. Down.flac
Size: 24121127 Hash: EC908113ED27C3557E77E9541669F64D Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: C40001F0481CBBB7048A89AB6F32873A84DF06CC
FILE: 04. Acceptance.flac
Size: 44014937 Hash: 64D94E398A2E7FF80FFC375E7905E024 Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: E2DB105F6F3F0384A658D9BED550CF42075AFCE9
FILE: 05. Exile.flac
Size: 50165004 Hash: 3DD97946A3ACB572958A1334D4619AD6 Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: 29B390352E201607D11DB9E16929AD962934EF28
FILE: 06. Down (Introduction).flac
Size: 16999227 Hash: 8BD8214D3225548DC9FF91D4A00AB250 Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: C384C166124278EE14E1D3A4C5B57808322D2ECF
FILE: 07. Down (Mizzou New Music Ensemble).flac
Size: 50911057 Hash: 5142F9F20E510A61980F2545CB1B194E Accuracy: -m0
Conclusion: CDDA 100%
Signature: A92324C6FF6FE3FEFE8879AE98BCB4E21A2CD146