9 Divas & Orquesta Cubana de Musica Moderna - Jazzcuba vol. 9 (2007)

Posted By: Ibiza
9 Divas & Orquesta Cubana de Musica Moderna - Jazzcuba vol. 9  (2007)

9 Divas & Orquesta Cubana de Musica Moderna
Cuba | mp3 320 Kbps | 118 MB
Rumorrecords S.L. 2007

The Orquesta Cubana de Musica Moderna was founded in 1967 with twenty-five musicians whose vocation and trajectory were in jazz.
Effectively the group interpreted (more in their concerts than on their records) a jazz repertoire that included styles such as Latin jazz and jazz rock, but from the beginning of the following decade their activity centred on accompaning soloists in theatres, on the radio, on television and - above all - in recordings.
"Feelings" singers such as Elena Burke, Omara Portuondo, Moraima Secada and Ela Calvo achieved some of their greatest successes at this time with the OCMM, which also supported figures such as Merceditas Valdés, well-known performer of afro music and Rosita Fornés - known as the first star of Cuba.
Figures of the new generation such as Beatriz Marquez and Nereida Naranjo took their first steps on record with this band.
This record not only shows the versatility of the brilliant musicians of the OCMM, but also brings together nine of the most important performing personalities of twentieth century Cuban popular music.
Recorded Havana 1970/1973
01. Omara Portuondo - Siboney
02. Elena Burke - Y yo te quiero más
03. Moraima Secada - Se llama tu
04. Merceditas Valdés - Devuelveme el coco
05. Ela Calvo - Indestructible
06. Rosita Fornes - Maria La O
07. Beatriz Marquez - En el cielo de mi vida
08. Malena Burke - Donde esta mi rosa
09. Omara Portuondo - Es soledad
10. Nereida Naranjo - Danza de los Ñañigos
11. Elena Burke - En nosostros
12. Ela Calvo - La tarde
13. Nereida Naranjo - Quise detener el tiempo
14. Moraima Secada - Vuelvete a mi
15. Beatriz Marquez - Tu inolvidable
16. Merceditas Valdés - Muriendome de risa