March 2024
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
25 26 27 28 29 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

Bring Me the Horizon - There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let's Keep It A Secret. (2010)

Posted By: Domestos
Bring Me the Horizon - There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let's Keep It A Secret. (2010)

Bring Me the Horizon - There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let's Keep It A Secret. (Japanese Edition) (2010)
MP3 CBR 320kbps | 01:07:10 | 167.86 Mb | Scans included
Metalcore, Post-Hardcore | Country: United Kingdom (Sheffield) | Label: Sony Music Japan - SICP-2840

There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret. (abbreviated to There Is a Hell…) is the third studio album by British rock band Bring Me the Horizon. It was released on 4 October 2010 by Visible Noise. The album was produced by Fredrik Nordstrom and Henrick Udd at IF Studios in Gothenburg, Sweden, with additional work at Sunset Lodge Studios in Los Angeles, California. It features guest vocals from Canadian recording artist Lights, Josh Franceschi from British rock band You Me at Six, and Josh Scogin from American mathcore band The Chariot.

The album was recorded between March and June 2010. It expands on the band's previous material, drawing from the metalcore genre and incorporating a wide variety of experimentation, symphonic, and electronic influences, clean vocals, and choral vocal samples. The band described Oliver Sykes' lyric writing as "personal" and "darker and moodier than music on the previous albums". The title is taken from the opening track, which is repeated multiple times throughout the song.

There Is a Hell received mostly favourable reviews from music critics, who praised the album's musicianship, lyrical content, experimentation, and maturity compared with the band's previous material. It is the only Bring Me the Horizon album that features rhythm guitarist Jona Weinhofen before his departure in January 2013. The album charted in several countries, including Canada, Germany, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and topped the charts in Australia. Two tracks were released as singles and five as music videos; "It Never Ends" charted on the UK Rock Chart, the UK Independent Chart, and the UK Singles Chart.

At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, There Is a Hell received an average score of 80 based on 9 reviews, which indicates "generally favorable reviews". Reviewers praised the album for its combination of Sykes' cathartic and introspective lyrics, and its string section. Big Cheese noted the variety on the album and said it crossed " … the youthful energy and passion of 2006’s 'Count Your Blessings', the rawness and anthemic nature of 2008's 'Suicide Season' and with more experimentation and savageness than ever before, this is the sound of Bring Me The Horizon going for the throat".

British publication Rock Sound gave the album significant critical acclaim. Upon its release, Rock Sound writer Pete Withers praised its lyrical content and musical diversity as " … a bold and unrestrained body of work which is unafraid to push their more experimental, electronic tendencies to the fore and feature lyrics of a highly personal, bluntly confessional nature". Rock Sound named There Is a Hell their "Album of The Year", as well as rating it at number 8 out of 101 "Modern Classics". Mike Diver, writing for BBC Music, gave the album a positive review, particularly praising the band's bold ambition to progress from Suicide Season. He said, "They’ve not done everything the easy way, but Bring Me the Horizon today stand at the very vanguard of the UK metal scene. This third album takes risks with confidence, and the end results are never less than startling." Metal Hammer's review of the album summarised it as " … one of the heaviest, most aggressive and best metal releases this year". Kerrang! was also positive in reviewing the album's dark themes, saying, " … while bleakness is certainly prominent throughout, this album has many different shades and it is these contrasts that make it so vital. It's an album that bursts with ambition, and that Bring Me The Horizon pull it off so powerfully further confirms their greatness."

Exclaim! critic Travis Persaud gave the album a positive review, praising the sonic diversity and Sykes' screaming, as there was " … desperation in his voice, very reminiscent of Spencer Chamberlain from Underoath". Absolutepunk said the album would " … destroy any and all preconceived notions about the band". AllMusic writer Gregory Heaney praised the lack of "over indulgent" production on the record, by incorporating studio trickery yet still being intense. However, not all reviews were positive; Spin magazine gave the album a lukewarm review, saying, "Is this bizarre smash-up the future of metal or just Generation Y's Pitchshifter?"

Oliver Sykes – lead vocals, keyboards
Lee Malia – lead guitar
Jona Weinhofen – rhythm guitar, vocals
Matt Kean – bass guitar
Matt Nicholls – drums, percussion

Bring Me the Horizon - There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let's Keep It A Secret. (2010)

Track List:
01. Crucify Me (Feat. Lights) (06:19)
02. Anthem (04:50)
03. It Never Ends (04:34)
04. Fuck (Feat. Josh Franceschi Of You Me At Six) (04:55)
05. Don't Go (Feat. Lights) (04:58)
06. Home Sweet Hole (04:37)
07. Alligator Blood (04:31)
08. Visions (04:08)
09. Blacklist (04:00)
10. Memorial (03:09)
11. Blessed With A Curse (05:08)
12. The Fox And The Wolf (Feat. Josh Scogin Of The Chariot) (01:45)
13. Chelsea Smile (KC Blitz Remix) (Bonus Track) (04:12)
14. Football Season Is Over (After The Night Remix) (Bonus Track) (03:54)
15. The Sadness Will Never End (Skrillex Remix) (Bonus Track) (06:01)