Omar Sosa - Eggun: The Afri-Lectric Experience (2013)

Posted By: mark70
Omar Sosa - Eggun: The Afri-Lectric Experience (2013)

Omar Sosa - Eggun: The Afri-Lectric Experience (2013)
MP3 320 kbps CBR | 73:33 min | 167 MB
Genre: Jazz, World | Label: Ota Records

Eggun, in the West African spiritual practice of Ifa and its various expressions throughout the African Diaspora, are the spirits of those who have gone before us, both in our personal families and those who serve as our spiritual guides. Omar Sosa's album Eggun: The Afri-Lectric Experience began as a commission from the Barcelona Jazz Festival in 2009 to create a tribute performance to Miles Davis's classic Kind Of Blue on the occasion of its 50th anniversary. Inspired by the album's various musical elements and motifs, Sosa wrote a suite of music honoring the spirit of freedom in Davis's seminal work, with jazz textures enriched by the subtle and expressive use of electronic elements. Special guests on the project include guitarist Lionel Loueke and percussionists Pedro Martinez and Gustavo Ovalles.


1 Alejet 7:26
2 El Alba 8:49
3 Interludio I 0:56
4 Alternativo Sketches 9:04
5 Interludio II 0:36
6 Madre Mia 8:47
7 Interludio III 0:50
8 So All Freddie 8:23
9 Interludio IV 0:57
10 Rumba Connection 9:19
11 Interludio V 1:05
12 Angustiado 7:42
13 Angustiado Reprise 2:44
14 Interludio VI 0:33
15 Calling Eggun 6:22


Omar Sosa: piano, Fender Rhodes, electronics; samples; Marque Gilmore: acousti-lectric drums; effects programming, drum loop production; Childo Tomas: electric bass, kalimba, vocals; Joo Kraus: trumpet, flugelhorn, electronic effects. Leandro Saint-Hill: alto saxophone, clarinet, flute; Peter Prfelbaum: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass saxophone, melodica, caxixi; Lionel Loueke: electro-acoustic guitar, vocals; Marvin Sewell: guitars; Pedro Martinez: percussion; John Santos: clave, chereke, waterphone, panderetas, tambora, guiro, quijada, Gustavo Ovalles: percussion.